Additional prizes

There are plenty of additional prizes handed out each year at Land Rover Blair Castle International Horse Trials. These are the lucky recipients and what they took home:


Winner, Emilie Chandler, received a rug, a Quaich, the Duke of Atholl Challenge Cup and the Sir Wattie Bronze (for the highest placed British rider). Emilie’s owner, Maria Doel, received a Quaich.

Sarah Holmes took away the Granamore Trophy for the highest placed mare.

Rosa Onslow was presented with Menzie’s Rose Bowl (highest placed Scottish rider) and the Blair Castle Shield (highest placed British rider under 25) while her groom, Annie Keller, received the best turned out and cared for horse award.

Simon Grieve won the Harry Park prize for most improved after dressage.


The winner, Astier Nicolas, received a rug, the Mary McFarlane Memorial Trophy as the new Scottish Open Champion, and an Atholl Estates Quaich. His owner, Marielle Grivot, also received a Quaich and the Scottish Horse Trials Perpetual Challenge Cup.

Wills Oakden won the Fellows Trophy as the highest placed Scottish rider.


Winner, Eleanor Hope, received a rug, Balreagen, Quaich, Kinloch House Hotel weekend break and the Ronald Alexander Trophy as the highest placed British Rider. Margaret and Simon Hope received a Quaich.

Emma Hobday won the Harry Park prize for greatest improvement on dressage placing.

Ashley Harrison took home the The Course Builders Quaich, for the rider closest to the optimum time across country, while Mrs Harrison won the Best Turned out prize.

Lewis McLean won the Iain Menzies Memorial Quaich for the highest placed Scottish rider.


The winner, Hayden Hankey, received a rug, two Atholl Estates Quaichs (as owner and rider), and the Scottish Novice Champion trophy. He also took home the Rosanne Trophy for the highest placed owner/rider mare (Cartown Galaxy). Hayden’s groom, Fiona Radford, received a  Tech Clothing jacket and the best turned out prize.

Morven Pringle was awarded an Tony Waters Trophy and an Atholl Estates Quaich as highest placed Scottish rider and the highest placed British rider under 25.

Wills Oakden received the Brian Smith Trophy for being the highest placed Perthshire rider.

Julia Norman received the Harry Park Prize for the greatest improvement on her dressage placing.